Chapala.com Webboard

Benefits of "Resident" Status?

feewee

Hola

I have been coming to Ajijic for 10 years on a FMM.  Now that I am retired and can stay for more than a few weeks at a time, I am considering becoming a Resident. A local lawyer suggested this would be a good idea for me.  Can any of you share what are the benefits of doing this?  

Thank you !

FeeWee

A Residente Permanente means you can stay longer than 180 days and can come and go as you please. You cannot bring in a foreign plated car but, if you own a home, you will probably not have to pay capital gains when you sell it because it will be your permanent residence. Also, as a Canadian, you can apply for Non Resident Tax status in Canada which will drop your income tax to a flat 15% on Canadian income. Be warned that, if you have investments in Canada, you will have to do a "deemed disposition" of those assets at current market value. It's all about the choices as they pertain to you.

Is a Permanente 'regulated' as to how many times they can leave the country or how much time they must spend in the country? (In a year or something?)

A Temporal can keep a non-Mexican plated vehicle here, but that status.... Temporal.... is an annual visa renewable for 3 more years for a total of 4. Then either must go Permanente or start all over again for a Temporal (having to qualify again) at a Mexican Consulate out of the country for another 4 years possible.  

No capital gains (in Mexico) benefit if that makes any difference. 

19 hours ago, Ferret said:

Please explain Rick. In our experience, there most certainly is a benefit if you wish to sell your home here.

Poor phrasing.... There is no capital gains benefit for a Temporal, only Permanente.

• Thanks 1

• 6 months later...