Chapala.com Webboard

Faster Ways to Translate WhatsApp conversations automatically? (English -> Spanish)

I am still learning Spanish but talk to a lot of Spanish-only people on WhatsApp.

Recently, I used WhatsApp to get TotalPlay Internet installed (new Lake Chapala optical fiber ISP).  I was able to pull it off with no phone calls.

What's the easiest method of translating WhatsApp conversations as automatically as possible?

Current Method: WhatsApp via Chrome Browser

I use the phone, but it's faster to translate via desktop Chrome browser with https://web.whatsapp.com
because Chrome has a built-in automatic translator.  So I begin chat on the web-based version of WhatsApp.

Spanish WhatsApp Chat in Google Chrome

Many services can help me fix problems in Spanish:

image.png.80ab7f39eafdefdf94218a5e3fb495e6.png

Activate Automatic Translator

It is sometimes difficult to enable the automatic translator on https://web.whatsapp.com because WhatsApp replaces the right-click menu with its own custom menu. Also, the translate icon is missing from the browser bar at first! 

SOLUTION: If you  right-click the EMPTY area near the top of the chat, then IT WORKS

Then I use Chrome browser to force translation:
1. Right-click on the empty area at the top
2. Select "Translate to English"

image.png.16128d79c02794c6f7e810af2c059092.png

Now you can read your Spanish chats as if they were natively speaking to you in English.  This works for the remainder of the chat session, as long as you do not close the browser window.

English-Translated WhatsApp chat

image.png.988d21193e680bdf569f7aedc3d67056.png

Sometimes New Messages Are Not Translated

To fix this,
1. Click the Translate icon. 
2. Then switch back and fourth (Click "Unknown" then click "English"). 
3. That will refresh the whole WhatsApp screen into 100% English.

image.png.2fb813c8879e1fb9d07f920124b4f5a3.png

My Method of Responding in Spanish: Copy+Paste from Google Translate