Chapala.com Webboard

Village Newbie needs advice again re Village Dogs...

secheltsally

Walking by Tango's this afternoon I saw the most pathetic little white dog, maybe a Maltese? He (she?) was limping quite badly and had horrible matts everywhere, and some serious ones on his feet. I know those matts can pull and hurt. He was so dirty, but not hungry I don't think as I gave him a doggy treat I had just picked up and he was not interested.

I had my dog with me so couldn't give him much attention or proper inspection to see if his foot was injured but wondered if anyone knows this village dog and if there is any way of helping him. Such a sad little thing.

How do we deal with this? Just turn a blind eye and carry on? Stop and try to get him some help. I hesitate to get involved with anyone else's pet but really....what a life for this little dog.

What to do? I am still learning about Ajijic and how to live here.

Some of the dirty and matted dogs you see a strays but most belong to someone. Many villagers don't understand the consequence of mats on their dogs. And I've seen injured dogs that obviously have a broken leg still walking around with a slight limp months later. The bones will heal even if not straight but they will eventually be relatively OK. The influence of gringos is very evident at Lakeside in that many more Mexicans have their dog on a leash. It's amazing the progress being made in regard to animal treatment just in the last several years. And yes, there's not much you can do. The laws have changed recently with regard to animals: they can no longer be confined without water or shelter. Not that everyone obeys the law, at least the govt. is heading in the right direction. But interfering with someone's animal, no matter how well-meaning, is not lawful either. Sometimes you just have to walk away and cry.